To access our databases from home, you need to use the barcode number from the back of your Kingsport Public Library borrower’s card.
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. Please note: This resource is available only on the computers from inside the Kingsport Public Library – it is NOT available to you at home or work through our Web site.
AtoZ the USA
Information about U.S. states, counties and cities including facts, maps, flags and photos.
Biography Reference Center
More than 460,000 full-text biographies.
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Online career guidance and planning system to find the right career, explore education and training options, and build a portfolio.
Chapter a day: online book club
Join one or more of eleven online books clubs and receive an email five days a week of a “chapter a day” from a popular book in your selected book club. Each week you’ll receive a different book. Choose from nonfiction, audio, business, fiction, good news, horror, mystery, pre-publications, romance, science fiction and teen.
The Chattanooga Times-Free Press
Full-text coverage of the The Chattanooga Times-Free Press from April 5, 2000 to May 29,2012.
Collection of over 25,000 family history books and the U.S. Census from 1790 through 1930. Also includes the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and Freedman’s Bank Records.
Knoxville News Sentinel
Full-text coverage of the Knoxville News Sentinel from August 15, 2000 to the present.
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams, including GED, GRE, ACT, SAT, ASVAB, Praxis, TOEFL, and skills improvement courses (with Spanish instructions.)
Mango Languages is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Greek, Japanese, Chinese, ESL Spanish, ESL Polish, and ESL Brazilian Portuguese. Access to this program requires a Kingsport Public Library card – once you have that, you can access from home, or while traveling.
Memphis Commercial Appeal
Full-text coverage of the Memphis Commercial Appeal from April 25, 2000 to the present.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Research more than 23,000 stocks and mutual funds
Build and analyze an investment portfolio
Learn about stocks, mutual funds, and portfolios.
Includes the Kingsport newspapers from 1916-1977. Contains other searchable newspapers dating as far back as the 1700s – the world’s largest archive of online newspapers. Please note: This resource is available only on the computers from inside the Kingsport Public Library – it is NOT available to you at home or work through our Web site.
Online TN Justice
Free legal advice from volunteer attorneys to low-income Tennesseans. The system screens potential clients for eligibility, and if they are qualified, will allow them to post a legal question to a secure messaging system. Only the name of the client will be shared with the volunteer attorney. All other information is anonymous to ensure privacy. Some of the criteria/eligibility:
* have civil legal concerns (criminal law matters will not be accepted)
*have household income less than 250% of federal poverty level i.e. family of four could earn up to $55,875 and still participate)
*have liquid assets up to $5,000 in value (includes checking and savings accounts as well as stocks and bonds)
*who are not incarcerated
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find balance and perspective on hundreds of topics with overviews, biographies and news sources.
Oxford Reference Online
Fast access to top-quality, authoritative information on every subject – from Art to Zoology! Oxford Reference online: Premium Collection combines rich and scholarly resources with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. It also offers excellent functionality, and a wide range of additional material such as maps, illustrations, and timelines.
Salem Press eBooks
The Salem Press eBook collection provides access to multiple eBook titles covering Health, History, and Literature. The full text of all titles can be searched, browsed, printed, and downloaded.
To access these titles from home using your library card, use the following links:
Small Business Resource Center
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as “Search Assist” and quick fact boxes.
Full-text coverage of The Tennessean from Nov 7, 2002 to the present.
The Tennessee Electronic Library
TEL databases include full-text magazine articles from general interest, health, business, Spanish, children’s and literary criticism publications. It also includes reference books.
The Tennessee Electronic Library for Kids:
Connect kids grades K-5 to safe, educational and entertaining resources.
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they’ll love.
TumbleBookCloud is a middle school AND high school collection which contains over 600 titles! This collection contains a vast array of YA/Teen novels, classics, poetry, short stories, YA/Teen audiobooks, graphic novels, and world class educational videos from National Geographic.
With over 600 titles and reading levels from grades 3-8, TumbleBookCloud Junior is a great option for adventurous young readers who wish to go beyond the picture book collection in TumbleBookLibrary! TumbleBookCloud Junior contains early reader chapter books, children’s classics, graphic novels, children’s audio books and new National Geographic videos – many of which are paired with e-books – a perfect complement to support Common Core Curriculum!
Is an online audio library.