Visible in this image is an area of downtown Kingsport near the intersection of Main and Shelby streets. The large building on the left was J. Fred Johnson’s Big Store and the building to the right was the Strand Theater. After the Strand Theater moved to Broad Street around 1925 the theater reopened as the Gem Theater. The road running from left to right across the back of the image is modern day West Sullivan Street. At the time it was the main road through Kingsport.
Date Taken: c. 1916
Collection(s): A.B. Akard Collection, c. 1916 and 1937
Rights: Use of this image is governed by U.S. and international copyright laws. Image is property of the Archives of the City of Kingsport. High-resolution versions are available from the Archives in most instances.